Chicken Souvlaki w/marinade

For the past year I found a new love of Greek food. It makes my mouth water just thinking about it. So I’ve finally decided to talk it opon myself to try out making some of these Greek recipes that I love! 

One of my favorite Greek dishes is chicken souvlaki wrapped in a pita. I’ve tried this recipe in two separate occasions and my boyfriend definitely approves! 

Im also adding my homemade tzatziki sauce (soooo yummy) in a separate post, so look for that as well, since what’s chicken souvlaki without tzatziki sauce. 

Try it out for yourself and let me know what you think!

   
Makes 2 servings 
Marinade:

2 chicken breasts

1 tbsp oregano

3 cloves garlic 

Half a small lemon 

Salt & Pepper to taste

1 ziploc bag


Sandwich Ingredients 

Pita bread

Tomatoes

Lettuce

Red onion 

Tzatziki sauce

Getting Started

Combine all ingredients in a ziploc bag 

Minced the garlic or use a garlic press (so much easier)

Squeeze the juice of half a small lemon 

And shake all the ingredients as to fully and evenly coat the chickens

Place the ziploc bag with chicken in the fridge and let it marinate I saw 1 hour is a good amount of time. However I think 30 mins – 5 hours works well too, its all personal preference. 

Cooking

Since I don’t have a grill readily available I baked my chicken

Preheat 400 

Bake the chicken for 35-40 mins

Flip chicken over half way through 

Time to assemble

Warm your pita bread

Layer with tomato, lettuce, sliced red onion, cubed chicken and tzatziki sauce

ENJOY!! 😋😋

Leave a Reply

