Turkey Meatballs with Homemade tomato sauce 

                This is one of my all time favorite foods is spaghetti and meatballs. It’s such a conforting dish and doesn’t have to be unhealthy. I opted for turkey instead of beef because 1. it’s healthier and 2. honestly I can’t tell the difference in taste in meatball form.

The sauce took me a couple tries to perfect it, but I think that this is a solid recipe and my boyfriend and parents definitely approve ✔️ I know I’m not Italian so please take it easy on me. Try it out for yourself so you can be the judge! 

Ingredients

Turkey Meatballs

1 pound ground turkey

1 egg

¼ cup Parmesan cheese

¼ cup breadcrumbs

1 tablespoon dry Italian seasoning

1 teaspoon salt

¼ cup fresh parsley chopped
Tomato Sauce

1 28oz can Crushed tomatoes

1 28oz can Peeled whole tomatoes 

4-5 cloves of garlic 

¼ cup of yellow onion 

2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning 

2 tablespoons of Oregano 

About 7 leaves of fresh basil chopped

2 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Turkey Meatballs

 For the meatballs, very simply, you’ll need to combine all ingredients in a bowl and roll in about 1-2 inch balls. Add olive oil and heat your skillet and cook evenly on medium heat for about 15-20 mins. Set aside on a plate.


Sauce
In a large pot add garlic, onion and olive oil, cook until garlic is lightly brown and onion is translucent. Add the cans of the crushed tomatoes and whole tomatoes (juice and all) and bring to a simmer. 

After about 20 mins you’ll notice the whole tomatoes becoming slightly soft, once this happens, I take a potato masher and start mashing them (some use an immerse blender or regular blender beforehand but I feel this keeps a lot more flavor, maybe it does maybe it doesn’t but I like doing it this way!) I continue to mash occasionally while I cook. Also remember to stir from time to time so that sauce doesn’t stick to the pot. After about 30 mins add Italian seasoning, oregano and basil and combine. The longer the sauce cooks the better it is. You can get away with an hour but I think 2 hours makes it perfect. In the last 30 mins of cooking the sauce add in the meatballs and cook as to combine all flavors, this also makes the meatballs really soft. 

ENJOY😋😋

Leave a Reply

